Manifesto

We believe that ecology is not a constraint or a brake in creation but a vector of new excitements and new desires. We think that it is not necessary to multiply the proposals but that a small collection, thought and manufactured in the same place expresses by itself its legitimacy.

Local and recycled raw materials. 100% handmade in France.

The renaissance of a material

The carton-pierre was a material used in the 18th century to make the architectural ornaments of famous buildings such as Versailles, Fontainebleau or Chambord. Replaced by synthetic materials, it disappeared over the centuries. In 2015, the Atelier d'Offard is reviving it. 

A multi-faceted material

Initially created to recycle paper scraps from the workshop, the carton-pierre took over 3 years of research before it was born. It has a fabulous capacity: acting as a glue with other materials, it can be mixed with coffee grounds, wood powder, ashes, cork... Offering us a rich palette of textures and colours comparable to a catalogue of natural stones. 

Composed of paper pulp, chalk powder, natural glue and linseed oil, it can be worked like ceramics, by moulding, turning, casting or in slabs, and takes on a stony appearance after drying. The carton-pierre is a 100% organic and mineral material, recycled and biodegradable. 

A technique of history

Handblock printing is a know-how that originated in the great French wallpaper factories of the 18th century, and gave France its international reputation as a country of style and taste. Replaced by industrial processes it gradually disappeared over the centuries.

Precision from hand to tool

Our designs are block printed for the pictorial richness created by the craftsman's gesture, the appearance of paint pressed onto the paper, the movement of the pigment, the quality of the materials, raw and deep. 

Handblock printing consists of transferring the paint onto the paper by means of an engraved stamp: the plate. This pad, inked with a roller, is placed on the paper and then pressed under several tons. Colour after colour, the pattern appears. 

  • L'atelier d'Offard

    L'Atelier d'Offard perpetuates the know-how of the wallpapers of the great 18th and 19th century factories.

    In a spirit of research and innovation, the company combines the mastery of traditional techniques with modern processes and tools. It rediscovers and reinvents the use of paper in decoration.

    En détail 
  • Fedrigoni

    An Italian company, Fedrigoni is at the heart of the production of high quality papers. With a strong commitment to sustainability, attention to low environmental impact processes is an integral part of their way of working.

    En détail 
  • Le télégraphe de Toulon

    The Telegraphe is one of the third places, these hybrid spaces designed for living together. Located in Toulon, in the heart of the city, it is a proposal turned towards the other: a laboratory of emergence, sociability, experience and creativity, where cultural proposals and good food intermingle.

    En détail 
  • Gerstaecker

    Our letterpress inks come exclusively from this German company founded in 1953.

    En détail

Manifeste

Nous pensons que l’écologie n’est pas une contrainte ou un frein dans la création mais bien un vecteur de nouvelles excitations et de nouvelles envies. Nous pensons qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de multiplier les propositions mais qu’une petite collection, pensée et fabriquée au même endroit exprime par elle-même sa légitimité.

Matières premières locales et recyclées. Confectionné à la main. 100% fait en France.

La renaissance d'un matériau

Le carton-pierre est un matériau utilisé au XVIIIe siècle pour fabriquer les ornement architecturaux d’édifices célèbres tels que Versailles, Fontainebleau ou Chambord. Remplacé par des matériaux synthétiques, il disparaît au fil des siècles. En 2015, l’Atelier d’Offard le fait renaître. 

Une matière plurielle

 Initialement créé pour recycler les chutes de papier de l’atelier, le carton-pierre met plus de 3 ans de recherche avant de voir le jour. Il possède une capacité fabuleuse : agissant comme une colle avec d’autres matières, il peut être mélangé avec du marc de café, de la poudre de bois, des cendres, du liège… Nous offrant une riche palette de textures et couleurs comparables à un catalogue de pierres naturelles. 

Composé de pulpe de papier, de poudre de craie, de colle naturelle et d’huile de lin, il se travaille comme la céramique, par moulage, tournage, coulage ou en plaque, et prend un aspect pierreux après séchage. Le carton-pierre est un matériau 100% organique et minéral, recyclé et biodégradable. 

Une technique d'histoire

L’impression à la planche est un savoir-faire qui voit le jour dans les grandes manufactures de papier peint françaises du XVIIIe siècle, et donne à la France sa réputation internationale de pays du style et du goût. Remplacé par des procédés industriels il disparait progressivement au fil des siècles.

Précision de la main à l'outil

Nos motifs sont imprimés à la planche pour la richesse picturale créée par le geste de l’artisan, l’aspect de peinture pressée sur le papier, le mouvement du pigment, la qualité des matériaux, bruts et profonds. 

L’impression à la planche consiste à transférer la peinture sur le papier par l’intermédiaire d’un tampon gravé : la planche. Ce tampon, encré au rouleau, est posé sur le papier puis pressé sous plusieurs tonnes. Couleur après couleur, le motif apparaît. 

  • L'atelier d'Offard

    L’Atelier d’Offard perpétue le savoir-faire des papiers peints à la planche des grandes manufactures des XVIIIe et XIXe siècles.

    Dans un esprit de recherche et d’innovation, l’entreprise allie la maîtrise des techniques traditionnelles aux procédés et outils modernes. Elle retrouve et réinvente l’utilisation du papier dans le décor.

    En détail 
  • Fedrigoni

    Maison italienne, Fedrigoni est au coeur de la production de papiers haut de gamme. Très attaché au développement durable, l’attention portée aux processus à faible impact environnemental fait partie intégrante de leur façon de travailler.

    En détail 
  • Le télégraphe de Toulon

    Le Telegraphe fait partie des tiers-lieux, ces espaces hybrides pensés pour le vivre ensemble. Installé à Toulon, au cœur de la cité, il est une proposition tournée vers l'autre : un laboratoire d'émergence, de sociabilité, d'expérience et de créativité, où propositions culturelles et bien-manger s'entremêlent.

    En détail 
  • Gerstaecker

    Nos encres typographiques traditionnelle pour toutes les techniques de gravure en relief proviennent exclusivement de cette entreprise allemande fondée en 1953.

    En détail